Dinner Tonight! Herb-Roasted Turkey Breast!

Dinner Tonight! Herb-Roasted Turkey Breast!

Yummy 21-Day Fix-approved dinner of herb-roasted turkey breast, roasted sweet potatoes and pears, and no-sodium green beans!
Yummy 21-Day Fix-approved dinner of herb-roasted turkey breast, roasted sweet potatoes and pears, and no-sodium green beans!

Dinners with little kids can be tough especially when it would be SO much easier to throw some chicken nuggets and French fries in the oven and call it a day. But if my husband and I are eating clean and healthy, shouldn’t our kids, too? I mean, wouldn’t we sort of be jerks if all we cared about was what we put in our bodies and said to hell with them because it’s too hard?

Now, don’t get me wrong, my three and a half year old can be picky. And, yes, most nights her dinner request is pancakes and eggs. I get it. But I think the key to clean eating for our little ones is that we make it taste REALLY yummy.

Enter this easy family dinner that’s also 21 Day Fix and 21 Day Fix Extreme approved! I love me some Barefoot Contessa. Ina’s recipes are SO amazing. But they’re also pretty heavy on the calories. So when I came across her recipe for an herb-roasted chicken breast I scanned it and realized, hey, this is clean!

I bought this turkey breast in the frozen food section at my local Wal-Mart. Who said clean food has to be expensive? :)
I bought this turkey breast in the frozen food section at my local Wal-Mart. Who said clean food has to be expensive? 🙂

I had a turkey breast on hand so I used that instead of chicken. I also had fresh rosemary and thyme from another recipe. I tweaked the ingredients a bit to make it more clean (e.g., I used much less EVOO), and I also used a boneless turkey breast instead of bone-in simply because that’s what I had. I imagine bone-in would result in an even more moist turkey or chicken breast. Besides being delightfully flavorful, it was SO easy AND the three year old? Yeah, she loved it, too! The entire meal! Score for Mom and Dad!

Let me know what you think! Enjoy!

UPDATE: Join my Healthy New Year challenge group! All you need is a Beachbody program of your choice to follow and me as your coach along the way! Click here to join and let’s kick off 2016 with some awesome health and fitness resolutions!

Makes 6 servings, 1 red container each

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 whole boneless turkey breast, 6 1/2 to 7 pounds
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic (3 cloves)
  • 2 teaspoons dry mustard
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh sage leaves
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 taeaspoons good olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 cup dry white wine

DIRECTIONS

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Place the turkey breast, skin side up, on a rack in a roasting pan.

In a small bowl, combine the garlic, mustard, herbs, salt, pepper, olive oil, and lemon juice to make a paste. Loosen the skin from the meat gently with your fingers and smear half of the paste directly on the meat. Spread the remaining paste evenly on the skin. Pour the wine into the bottom of the roasting pan.

Roast the turkey for 1 3/4 to 2 hours, until the skin is golden brown and an instant-read thermometer registers 165 degrees F when inserted into the thickest and meatiest areas of the breast. (I test in several places.) If the skin is over-browning, cover the breast loosely with aluminum foil. When the turkey is done, cover with foil and allow it to rest at room temperature for 15 minutes. Slice and serve with the pan juices spooned over the turkey.

21 Day Fix container breakdown per serving:

1 Red

5 thoughts on “Dinner Tonight! Herb-Roasted Turkey Breast!

  1. Hi I am thinking about making this for extreme but the only herbs I have fresh are rosemary and parsley ( not even in the recipe). Any ideas how much dried herbs to sub? Thanks excited to try it!!

    Like

    1. Sure! So the rule of thumb I follow is that for every tablespoon of fresh herbs I substitute with 1/2 to 1 teaspoon dried herbs. I think as long as you have some rosemary and add salt and pepper and garlic, you will be all set! Let me know how it turns out!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OKAY I made it tonight and let me tell you what it was FANTASTIC! What diet, this don’t taste like no stinking’ diet. Real food is really really good. I did modify though my turkey was only 1.5 lbs so I was a good girl and cut the extras in half like the salt, oil & wine. Only seasoning I cut in half was the pepper, I like more flavor so it was just fine. It did take a while to cook on 325 which I was surprised- 1.5 hours. I made this with steamed zucchini and cajun sweet potato fries (also clean eating).

    This my friends is a keeper. I love the recipe thanks for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment